About NSC Council

The Nutritional Sciences Council of Iowa State University (NSC) was established in 1949 by the

Dean of the Graduate College to coordinate research and teaching of nutritional sciences across  

several academic departments.  Initial objectives were to facilitate communication among

researchers and coordination of graduate curricula leading to degrees in nutritional sciences.  

These efforts have led to the creation of the Interdepartmental Graduate Program in Nutritional

Sciences (IGPNS).  Aside from the activities of the IGPNS, current activities under the guidance

of the NSC include the following:

1.  Annual sponsorship of a Modern Views of Nutrition seminar series during fall semester

that is a degree requirement for IGPNS students.

2. Sponsorship of timely international and regional/national symposia.

3. Promotion of graduate education in nutritional sciences via the IGPNS.

4. Sponsorship of an annual Lectureship that is a degree requirement for IGPNS graduate


5. Sponsorship of an annual David R. Griffith Research Excellence Award for outstanding

nutritional sciences graduate students.

6. Administration of the W.S. Martin Endowment for funding of small, innovative research

projects related to nutritional sciences.

7. Coordination of the Norman Borlaug Lecture and its associated poster competition each

fall semester.

The Council is composed of members of the Iowa State University faculty and staff whose

primary interests are research and graduate education in nutritional sciences.  Departments

represented are:  Food Science and Human Nutrition, Animal Science, Kinesiology,

Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology, Economics, Agronomy, Genetics,

Development and Cell Biology, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Human Development and

Family Studies, Sociology, Statistics, Biomedical Sciences, Veterinary Pathology, and

Veterinary Diagnostic and Production Animal Medicine.  The interdepartmental nature of the

Council affords an opportunity for exchange of ideas and development of common interests.

The Wise and Helen Burroughs Lectureship fund provides partial support for the Modern Views

of Nutrition seminar series and the Summer Lectureship, which includes travel expenses and

honoraria for invited scientists.  The D.R. Griffith Research Excellence Award fund provides

support for the graduate student research award.  An endowment provided by W. S. Martin (Iowa

State University alumnus) is used to provide support for the small research grants program.  The

James A. Olson Memorial Fund provides funds for support of the Summer Lectureship.  

Additional financial support for the Modern Views of Nutrition seminar, Borlaug Lecture and

poster competition, and other Council activities is provided by the President’s Office,

participating departments, the Graduate College, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences,

College of Human Sciences, USDA National Animal Disease Center, and outside agencies.



Summer Lectureship

Participating Departments

Meeting Minutes

Modern Views of Nutrition